This Website Uses Cookies. Cookies are small text files held on your computer. Cookies will never contain any personally identifiable information. You can delete and block cookies but parts of our site may not work without them. We use cookies in order to deliver the best possible service to you and to provide a secure and effective site service for users. By using this site, you agree that we may store and access cookies on your device. To find out more about how we use cookies and also how you can change your cookie settings, click here.

Hide this message

Computer Society of Zimbabwe wins International Best Practice Award

Print page

CSZ Best Practice

At the ECDL Foundation Forum 2013 held in London, the entry submitted by The Computer Society of Zimbabwe was voted to be an outstanding example of best practice in the Corporate/Private sector category.

ECDL Foundation is the certifying authority for the world’s leading international computer skills certification programme, ECDL / ICDL. The Best Practice Awards were established to acknowledge and promote projects that are considered exceptional examples of the implementation of ECDL Foundation programmes, which raise levels of digital literacy and promote ECDL / ICDL in local markets. ICDL Africa manages the ICDL programme in Africa.

The Corporate/Private category highlights innovative projects and initiatives that led to noticeable improvements in the levels of digital literacy amongst private sector workers or students in private schools. These enhanced digital skills improve both the productivity levels and employability of candidates.

The Computer Society of Zimbabwe was awarded first prize for its project ‘Implementation of ICDL at St. Dominic’s Secondary School’. The project began when no-one in the school with an ICDL certification, including the teachers, and ended with a successful ICDL test centre in the school with 350 candidates. The school had also won an award for ‘Best school making a difference in terms of IT education for young people’ at Zimbabwe’s national forum last year.

The ECDL Foundation Best Practice Awards ceremony was attended by ICT professionals and digital literacy policy shapers, representing national computer societies and international organisations in 148 countries around the world.

The runner-up in this category was ICDL Iran.

There are three other categories for the ECDL Foundation Best Practice Awards. The other winners this year were ECDL Nederland in the Government/Public category, Palestine in the Social Inclusion category, and Italy in the Digital Marketing category.

Tags: May, Education